Board members

Work. Experience. Discover.

The Board supervises the implementation of the Association’s policy and decisions approved by the General Conference, initiates activities supporting the Association’s policy in general and is responsible for the day to day management of the Association executed by the President. It is composed of the President and four elected members.



The President is elected by the Members to convene and chair board meetings. The President represents the Association at the international level.



The Secretary is responsible at the higher directive level for the international administration of the Association and acts as the active conduit for communication and is the custodian of the proceedings of the Association.



The Treasurer is responsible for the finances of the Association.

Bernard Baeyens - President

Bernard Baeyens completed his Civil Engineering studies at the Katkolieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium) in 1974. As a student he did traineeships with Siemens AG in Munchen and ONCO Ltda in Bogotá. He worked as an engineer with the Electricity Company of Bogota, Eternit Belgium, TERCA SA, Prime Minister’s Office for Science Policy and Ministry of Brussels Region in Belgium. From 1988 until 2014 he worked with the University of Ibagué (Colombia), where he has been Lecturer, Dean of the Engineering Faculty and Director of the International Relations Office. From 2014 he is International adviser at the University Uniminuto. He has been National Secretary of IAESTE Colombia since 1998, Board Member from 2011 until 2013 and since 2014 President of IAESTE A.s.b.l.


Kristýna Šimková - Board Member

Kristýna is a Master student of Food Engineering at the University of Chemistry and Technology in Prague and has been on an IAESTE internship in Athens, Greece. She joined Local Committee of UCT Prague in 2013 and has been passionate about the Exchange program ever since. She held many positions during her time at the local level and after one year she decided to take the position of National Outgoing Coordinator, where she worked for three years. During her time in the Board, Kristýna wants to focus on development of the Exchange program.

Photo cv

Thomas Faltner - Treasurer

Thomas Faltner is a member of the managing board of an Austrian mechanical engineering company, which he first worked for as a trainee back in 1994. He joined IAESTE in 2002 as a student member while studying chemical engineering at the JKU (Linz/Austria) and had various positions within IAESTE Austria on the local and national level. From 2006 onwards he served IAESTE A.s.b.l. in various positions like Board Member, Chairman of the General Conference, Internal Auditor and SID Co-ordinator. He is also a Member of the Board of Trustees of IAESTE Austria since 2013. As Treasurer his focus is on financial matters as well as on streamlining internal processes.

Thomas final

Dr. Karunakar A Kotegar - Secretary

Dr. Karunakar A Kotegar (KK) is working as a Professor & Head in Department of Computer Application, Manipal Institute of Technology of Manipal Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), Manipal India. He has twenty years of experience in Teaching, Research and Administration in the university. Dr. KK has been associated with IAESTE India since it's inception in 2012 as a President, Advisory Board and has served as the Deputy Director, International Collaborations at MAHE for five years from 2012. He is a faculty adviser for IAESTE in MAHE and AIESEC in MAHE.


Hossein Eftekhar - Board Member

Hossein has M.S degree in Civil engineering from University of Tehran. He has been Office Manager of IAESTE Iran since 2014. Hossein has had varied roles in IAESTE, such as a board member of the Asian IAESTE Forum in 2016 and SID (Strategic IAESTE Development) Coordinator in 2017. During his time on the Board of IAESTE A.s.b.l., Hossein would like to focus on developing the work of our regional initiatives & SID related projects.